Our Hotel Venue

We’ve finally decided on the hotel venue! Wedding will be in Feb 2013.

My “dream” wedding venue used to be: Amara Sanctuary, Fullerton Hotel Straits Room, The White Rabbit Restaurant.

I like Amara Sanctuary because of the Glass Pavilion, which looks really nice to say our vows in. And not forgetting their villas! A truly resort kind of wedding : )

Picture Source: The Pleasure Monger.
Read more about her wedding at Amara Sanctuary, Sentosa here.

When we realised Amara Sanctuary probably won’t be working out for us, due to some changes, I thought Fullerton Hotel was a great choice.

Love the classic look of the Straits Room, ideal for wedding lunch!

However, we were also not able to proceed with lunch. And the capacity would probably be too small – at 18 tables max.

So….

Next one I was looking at The White Rabbit Restaurant.

Then we realised that The White Rabbit can’t work out for us as well..

So instead we have to go the “regular” wedding dinner style : |

Edited: My Views on Carlton

Pros: Good location, Competitive pricing, Modern & chic outlook after renovation, High ceiling & Pillarless, Well-Known Cantonese cuisine.

Not a particularly fantastic experience, but I would say it’s a good package for its location.

Previously we liaised with William from the hotel, and I really am impressed by his patience, help, friendliness and an air of humbleness. Recently we receive news that William has left the hotel, and our contact was taken over by another senior sales manager.

For myself, I like the hotel’s location (so near to our church!), the lobby and the pricing for the banquet. So we still go ahead to meet the sales manager to confirm the banquet.

I was just feeling a little weird that, no matter what dates we were looking at, there will always be people “tentatively booking” the date. If it’s true that couples are always tentatively booking the dates, and then decided to let it go, says something about the choice eh? So, I wonder if that’s their sales tactic. Haha!

I probably think that the stress from planning of the wedding and wanting everything to fall in place nicely makes me a BrideZilla. LOL. Especially can be seen through this confirmation of the hotel venue – I nearly quarreled with The Pau during the meeting with the sales manager.

Cons: Inflexible menu and house wine, Inflexible & limited perks, Limited themes & table linen.

It’s probably because I am particular with food and wine (Yes, I hear you. If I’m really particular, we could have gone to a good 5 star hotel). But whenever I voice out my thoughts or concerns, I feel that the sales manager just speak whatever she wants, forgetting about my needs (Yes, I hear you. That’s another occupational hazard).

The most *ARGH* incident must have been the wine. We didn’t know we had to choose and confirm the perks at the time of confirming the package, and it’s not re-negotiable at later stage.

I remembered asking William for their house wine before, and got to know it’s from Chile. (Ok la, another occupational hazard from my previous job) I personally enjoy Chilean wine. But I don’t think I want to serve Chilean wine, cos I’m looking for drinkability for wine to be served, so that most of the guests can enjoy the wine. I don’t believe in drinking wine just for the sake of getting drunk.

Click here and here to know more about drinkability.

My concern is that some Chile Cabernet Sauvignon carries strong tannins and smoke. Which some people may not really enjoy.

Maybe it’s my fault cos I “translated” drinkability to being “easy to drink”. Also maybe I had too much pride in myself, especially when it comes to stuff that I love or know about.

So I was totally switched off at that point when she says “what you like doesn’t mean other people will also like. like what he (referring to The Pau) like may not be what you like. it’s subjective“. And she continue to elaborate saying there were couples who, after food tasting, even ordered more bottle of the wine. That made me feel kind of insulted (maybe my fault).

I gave up on putting my point across so we went for the house wine + waiver of corkage 1 bot per table which they very kindly extended to us (I probably believe it’s already in the package).

But hor….. What if they decided to change their house wine sometime later this year?

*Shrugs*

Okaysss, end of complaining! : p We are going ahead!

2 thoughts on “Our Hotel Venue

  1. Wah lau!! She’s really rude!! If it’s me, I’ll definitely give her a piece of my mind!! I get what you mean! And she’s really just being unreasonable and insolent!

Leave a comment